14 Jun

California Supreme Court Tolls Death-Knell on Independent Contractor Classifications

by

California Supreme Court Tolls Death-Knell on Independent Contractor Classifications By: Carrie Battilega Luetzow, Special Counsel for Andrews Lagasse Branch + Bell LLP To curtail the number of misclassified independent contractors, the California Supreme Court recently adopted a new test for determining whether a worker is an employee or an independent contractor for purposes of the Califoria wage orders.   In a landmark case, Dynamex Operations West, Inc. v. Superior Court of Los Angeles, No. S222732 …

Learn More
13 Jan

2018 Employment Law Update

by

Each New Year brings a host of new laws, and 2018 is no exception. There are several laws employers should be aware of. Below we summarize three of the most important changes taking effect in the New Year. New Parent Leave Act Beginning January 1, 2018, employers with at least 20 employees will be required to provide unpaid leave to new parents. (Note that employers with 50+ employees are already required to provide leave for …

Learn More
1 Apr

California Minimum Wage Scheduled to Increase to $15 Per Hour by 2022

by

On April 4, 2016, Governor Jerry Brown signed a bill into law, setting forth a schedule that will gradually raise California’s minimum wage each year, until it reaches $15.00/hour.  The increases begin on January 1, 2017. For employers with 26 or more employees, California’s minimum wage will increase as follows, except when scheduled increases are temporarily suspended by the Governor, based on a determination that economic conditions cannot support a minimum wage increase: $10.50/hour on …

Learn More
17 Oct

California’s New Fair Pay Act – What Employers Need to Know

by

On October 6, 2015, California Governor Jerry Brown signed the Fair Pay Act (the Act), an equality wage bill introduced by state Sen. Hannah-Beth Jackson (D-Santa Barbara). In signing the bill, which goes into effect January 1, 2016 for employers with California-based employees, Governor Brown called the act “another step toward closing the persistent wage gap between men and women.” Gender-based pay discrimination was already prohibited under the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) and …

Learn More
5 May

What Every Employer Needs to Know about California’s Paid Sick Leave Law

by and

The Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 went into effect on January 1, 2015, but employees’ right to accrue and take sick leave does not take effect until July 1, 2015. Are you ready? Starting July 1, 2015, qualifying employees will be entitled to at least 24 hours of paid sick leave in a 12-month period. I. Who Qualifies for Paid Sick Leave? Employees who work at least 30 days in California within a …

Learn More